This collection contains both color and black and white photos of life at The Meeting School, slides, and some relevant lists and writing (eg superlatives, poems). Part of The Meeting School Records, RG4/129.
Copyright has not been assigned to Friends Historical Library. All requests for permission to reproduce images must be submitted to the Curator. Permission for publication is given on behalf Friends Historical Library as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder, which must also be obtained by reader.
Biographical / Historical
The Meeting School, West Rindge, New Hampshire, was incorporated in June 1957. It was established as an experimental co-educational college preparative school that emphasized community cooperation and individualized study. The corporation was headed by a Board of Trustees composed of nine members. The School was guided by a Quaker philosophy. As a working farm, students spent part of every day doing farm work. Progressive values and classes were imparted to the students, and there were field trips to attend protests and programs to explore social causes.
The administration was modeled on a Quaker-style business meeting in which faculty, staff and students met regularly to discuss policy and agree by consensus. Rather than rules, standards for behavior and academics were recorded as "Minutes."
The School was founded by three Quaker couples: George and Helen Bliss, Joel B. and Ruth Hayden, and Robert G. and Thera Hindmarsh. George L Bliss (1915-1987) was the founder of the School and served as Clerk (Head) for the first ten years. His wife, Helen Lippincott Bliss (1915-2006) served as Secretary/Treasurer and house parent at the same time. The School was situated on the Captain Philip Thomas homestead in West Rindge.
The school was very small, with enrollment around 30 students The financial situation was always perilous, and it was forced to close the 1978-1979 school year because of money problems. An endowment was not established until the 1990s. The School also had high student turnover.
The School closed after the spring 2011 semester, intending to reopen in September 2013 as the New England Friends Semester at The Meeting School. This was proposed to be a semester-long Quaker and farming immersion program for high school juniors. In January 2012, the Board decided to close The Meeting School permanently.
The Meeting School was an experimental, co-educational Quaker farm school located in Rindge, N.H. It was founded in 1957 and closed in 2011.
This collection contains both color and black and white photos of life at The Meeting School, slides, and some relevant lists and writing (eg superlatives, poems).
This collection is arranged by type (photographs versus slides) and then chronologically.
Immediate Source of Acquisition
Gift of The Meeting School, FHL 2016.014. Part of The Meeting School Records, RG4/129.
This collection was removed from The Meeting School Records, RG4/129.
Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College Library
[Indicate the cited item or series here], The Meeting School photographs, PA 181, Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College. http://archives.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/repositories/7/resources/9663 Accessed December 06, 2019.