Skip to main content
Archives & Manuscripts

League of Nations Union (U.S.) Collection

Identifier: SCPC-CDG-A-League of Nations Union (U.S.)


  • 1919 - 1922


Language of Materials

Materials in English.

Limitations on Accessing the Collection


Copyright and Rights Information



0.04 Linear Feet (0.5 linear inches)

Historical note

The League of Nations Union was formed through incorporation by members and officers of the World Court League, the New York Peace Society, and the American National Board of the Women's International Committee. Theodore E. Burton was President, and Charles H. Levermore was Secretary. Dominated by men at its inception, the League eventually named Jane Addams, Anna Garlin Spencer, and Lucia Ames Mead as members of the Board of Directors, though their participation is not documented in subsequent meetings' minutes. It was modeled on, but was separate from, the League of Nations Union in Great Britain.

Custodial History

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for these papers/records.

Related Materials

Related materials may be found by searching the library's online catalog.

Legal Status

Copyright is retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendents, as stipulated by United States copyright law.
Description rules

Revision Statements

  • 2017: Julie Swierczek imported the notes in Fall 2017.

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)