Skip to main content

Rosalie Regen scripts

Identifier: HC.MC-950-154

Scope and Content note

This collection is comprised of the scripts, generally for one-act plays, written by Rosalie Regen. Each play focuses on Quaker history, and particularly important Quaker individuals, including: Elizabeth Fry, John Woolman, William Penn, Rufus Jones, George Fox, Mary Fisher, and John Greenleaf Whittier. The scripts for the following plays are included in the collection: "The Seven Sisters," "Master John," "slave wedding," "Admiral Penn and Son William," and "Bewitched" "Rufus Jones and the Gestapo" and "The Man in Leather Breeches." Also included in the collection are a few items of correspondence by Regen, and a number of materials related to an exhibit on Elizabeth Fry.


  • 1952-1953


Use Restrictions

Standard Federal Copyright Law Applies (U.S. Title 17).

Biographical note

Rosalie Stork Regen (1909-1993) was a Quaker author and playwright who joined the Rahway and Plainfield Monthly Meeting in 1941. She was the daughter of Charles Wharton Stork and Elisabeth "Lisl" von Pausinger Stork. Rosalie attended Germantown Friends School and Radcliffe College, graduating with honors in English Literature in 1931. She then worked in publishing in New York City before marrying Curt Regen. The couple had three children, Richard, Barbara and Deborah Regen. Two grandchildren, Peter Regen and Jeffrey Regen, graduated from Swarthmore College in 1989 and 1991, respectively.

The Regens settled in New Jersey and were active members of the Rahway and Plainfield Monthly Meeting. Rosalie was active in Ministry and Oversight, Peace & Service and the Religious Education committees at Plainfield and served as chair of the New York Yearly Meeting Religious Education Committee. Curt was a member of the Board of The McCutchen, the Yearly Meeting Friends Home.

Rosalie wrote many stories, poems and plays for her own children and for Quaker children around the world. She was greatly involved with the First-day School at Plainfield MM and her plays were often put on by the children there and at Yearly Meeting at Silver Bay.

A collection of one-act plays entitled Peaceful Heroes was published by Friends General Conference in 1962. Other publications include Forever in Joy, a book of poetry published in 1974; I was a Problem Daughter, You were a Problem Mother, an autobiographical novel published in 1988; Peaceful Heroes II published in 1988; and The Joy of Death, written after the death of Curt Regen.

Curt and Rosalie were also active in visitation and traveled to minister to Friends all over the world. They took extensive slides, which were often shown at Silver Bay.

Rosalie also kept journals and a prodigious correspondence. Her interests, as documented in this collection of papers, photographs and slides, are divided among family, writing and active involvement with the affairs of the Society of Friends.

Source: Finding aid for the Rosalie Regen Papers, 1856-1993 RG 5/166, Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College


1 folders





Processing Information

Processed by Kara Flynn; completed March 2016.


Rosalie Regen scripts, 1952-1953
Kara Flynn
March 2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting Haverford College Quaker & Special Collections Library

370 Lancaster Ave
Haverford PA 19041 USA US