Skip to main content

Citizens Peace Petition Committee Collected Records

 Collection — othertype: CDG-A
Identifier: SCPC-CDG-A-Citizens Peace Petition Committee


  • Creation: 1941-1942

Biographical / Historical

The Citizens Peace Petition Committee was organized in 1941. The Committee, aimed at pressuring President Franklin Roosevelt to urge the cessation of hostilities abroad, was sponsored by the Fellowship of Reconciliation, Keep America Out of War Congress, National Council for Prevention of War, and the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. John Haynes Holmes, Abraham Cronbach, Harry Emerson Fosdick, Helen Alfred, Rufus Jones, and Albert W. Palmer were officers. The Committee was dissolved on December 22, 1941.


0.08 linear ft. (1 linear in.)

Language of Materials


General Note

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for the records of this organization.

Description rules
Archives, Personal Papers, And Manuscripts (Appm)
Language of description
Script of description

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting repoductions from Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)