Skip to main content

Committee for National Security Collected Records

 Collection — othertype: CDG-A
Identifier: SCPC-CDG-A-Committee for National Security


Primarily printed material including memoranda, reports, publicity materials.


  • Creation: Majority of material found within 1980-1989

Language of Material

Materials are in English.

Restrictions on Access

Collection is open for research without restrictions.

Biographical / Historical

Committee for National Security; CNS; headquartered in Washington D.C.; began in 1980 as a national, private organization composed of prominent Americans with interest and expertise in foreign policy; non-partisan; concerned about national security, U.S./Soviet relations and nuclear proliferation; Paul C. Warnke was honorary chairman; other members of the executive board included Robert (Bob) Edgar, Richard Barnet, William Colby, and Lawrence J. Korb.


0.21 linear ft. (2.5 linear in.)

General Note

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for the records of the Committee for National Security.

Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting repoductions from Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)