Skip to main content

The Meeting School (Rindge, N.H.) records

Identifier: SFHL-RG4-129


The Meeting School was an experimental, co-educational Quaker farm school located in Rindge, N.H. It was founded in 1957 and closed in 2011. The collection contains the records from its inception to closing, publications, and other related records.


  • Creation: 1957 - 2014


Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Permission to reuse, publish, or reproduce items in this collection beyond the bounds of Fair Use or other exemptions to copyright law must be obtained from the copyright holder or their heirs/assigns. See

Biographical / Historical

The Meeting School, West Rindge, New Hampshire, was incorporated in June 1957. It was established as an experimental co-educational college preparative school that emphasized community cooperation and individualized study. The corporation was headed by a Board of Trustees composed of nine members. The School was guided by a Quaker philosophy. As a working farm, students spent part of every day doing farm work. Progressive values and classes were imparted to the students, and there were field trips to attend protests and programs to explore social causes.

The administration was modeled on a Quaker-style business meeting in which faculty, staff and students met regularly to discuss policy and agree by consensus. Rather than rules, standards for behavior and academics were recorded as "Minutes."

The School was founded by three Quaker couples: George and Helen Bliss, Joel B. and Ruth Hayden, and Robert G. and Thera Hindmarsh. George L Bliss (1915-1987) was the founder of the School and served as Clerk (Head) for the first ten years. His wife, Helen Lippincott Bliss (1915-2006) served as Secretary/Treasurer and house parent at the same time. The School was situated on the Captain Philip Thomas homestead in West Rindge.

The school was very small, with enrollment around 30 students The financial situation was always perilous, and it was forced to close the 1978-1979 school year because of money problems. An endowment was not established until the 1990s. The School also had high student turnover.

The School closed after the spring 2011 semester, intending to reopen in September 2013 as the New England Friends Semester at The Meeting School. This was proposed to be a semester-long Quaker and farming immersion program for high school juniors. In January 2012, the Board decided to close The Meeting School permanently.


18 linear ft.

Language of Materials


Physical Location

For current information on the location of materials, please consult the Library's online catalog.

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift, The Meeting School

Date: 2016

Processing Information

The records were delivered by Jacqueline Stillwell, former Head of School, and a Committee in approximately twenty five cartons. The records were sorted into series, removed from binders, and foldered. Duplicates and confidential student records were removed. Audio visual materials were transferred to FHL AV.

The photographs are processed as PA 181, The Meeting School Pictures. A leather pouch was returned to the donor.

An Inventory of The Meeting School (Rindge, N.H.) Records, 1957-2014
FHL staff
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting repoductions from Friends Historical Library of Swarthmore College Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore Pennsylvania 19081 USA