Skip to main content

Consultative Peace Council Collected Records

 Collection — othertype: CDG-A
Identifier: SCPC-CDG-A-Consultative Peace Council


Includes correspondence, reports, financial records, administrative files, minutes of meetings, publicity materials, brochures, newspaper clippings. Correspondents include: Devere Allen, Dorothy Detzer, Alfred Hassler, Jessie Wallace Hughan, Abe Kaufman, Frederick J. Libby, A.J. Muste, Ray Newton, Mildred Scott Olmsted, John Swomley, E. Raymond Wilson, and M.R. Zigler.


  • Creation: Majority of material found within 1930-1969


Language of Material

Materials are in English.

Restrictions on Access

Collection is open for research without restrictions.

Biographical / Historical

Consultative Peace Council; CPC. These files contain the papers of several groups: the Pacifist Action Committee, the Anti-War Mobilization Mass Meeting, and the Neutrality Bloc, which led to the development of the Peace Strategy Board, which became the Joint Peace Board in 1945-1946. The group again changed its name in 1946 to Consultative Peace Council; this was the final name of the organization. The Consultative Peace Council formed in 1946 as a clearinghouse of major American peace groups, mainly pacifist-leaning; headquartered in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Present at the organizing committee of the Consultative Peace Council held February 13, 1946 at Atlantic City, New Jersey included: M.R. Zigler, Brethren Service Committee; Ray Newton, American Friends Service Committee; Dorothy Detzer, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom; John Swomley, Fellowship of Reconciliation; Elsie Elfenbein, Post War World Council; Abe Kaufman, War Resisters League; E. Raymond Wilson, Friends Committee on National Legislation; Jesse Hoover, Mennonite Central Committee; Fred J. Libby, National Council for the Prevention of War; Hi Doty, Pacifist Research Bureau; Henry Perry, Peace Committee Five Years Meeting of Friends; Allan Knight Chalmers, Fellowship of Reconciliation; Jerome Malino, Jewish Peace Fel1owship Hannah Clothier Hull, Friends' General Conference; Mildred Scott Olmsted, Women's International League and Women's Committee on Conscription; Paul C. French, National Service Board for Religious Objectors; Henry Cadbury, American Friends Service Committee; Waldemar Metz (Evangelical and Reformed Peace Fellowship in process of formation); Lee Stern, Pacifist Esperantist Fellowship: Mark Shaw, National Council for the Prevention of War; and A.J. Muste, Fellowship of Reconciliation. Alfred Hassler was its final president. The CPC ceased to exist around 1969.


0.83 linear ft. (10 linear in.)

Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting repoductions from Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)