Skip to main content

New England Non-Resistance Society Collected Records

 Collection — othertype: CDG-A
Identifier: SCPC-CDG-A-New England Non-Resistance Society


  • 1838-1846

Biographical / Historical

The New England Non-Resistance Society was organized by radical members within the American Peace Society at the Boston Peace Convention in September 1838, with William Lloyd Garrison, Adin Ballou, William Ladd, Charles Whipple, and others, among the leadership. The Non-Resisters opposed all wars and admitted all who adhered to that principle to membership, with voting rights, regardless of race or gender. Additionally, they opposed the whole penal system, capital punishment and human government. During the Civil War, many members proved to be more devoted to abolition than to pacifism, abandoning their non-resistant position; others, such as Adin Ballou, remained true to the Society's original principle of opposition to all wars.


0.08 Linear Feet (1 linear in.)



General Note

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection is not the official repository for the records of this organization.

Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting reproductions from Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)