Skip to main content

Peace Action Records

Identifier: SCPC-DG-151


The Peace Action collection is a continuation of the SANE and SANE Education Fund (DG 58) collection, which also resides at the SCPC (the papers of the Nuclear Weapons Freeze Campaign are at the University of Missouri at St. Louis). It documents the merger of SANE and the NWFC, as well as the goals and work of the merged organization, through meeting minutes, correspondence, program files, press clippings and other publicity, statements and communications with Congress and other leaders, as well as publications and resources in other formats. Includes correspondence, annual reports, administrative files, financial records, flyers and handbills, memorabilia, minutes of meetings, newspaper clippings, periodicals, publicity materials, reference files, audiocassettes, slides, reel-to-reel tapes, videocassettes, computer diskettes, photographs, and posters. Correspondents include: Nick Carter, Gordon Clark, David Cortright, Carolyn Cottom, and Monica Green.


  • Creation: 1986-


Language of Materials

Materials are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access Note

All or part of this collection is stored off-site. Contact Swarthmore College Peace Collection staff at at least two weeks in advance of visit to request boxes.

Historical Note

Formed as a result of a merger between SANE and the Nuclear Weapons Freeze Campaign in November 1987; called SANE/FREEZE until 1993, when name was changed to Peace Action; goals: to promote and clarify peace issues, elect pro-peace government officials, promote nuclear arms control, and lobby for a peace economy. Board of Directors members have included: Rev. William Sloane Coffin (President 1987-1990), Olivia Abelson, Dot Baker, Joan Bolte, Lois Booth, Gloria Bouis, Bob Brand, Kay Bridgeford, Steven Brion-Meisels, Beth Broadway, Acie Byrd, Elizabeth Ainsley Campbell, Rev. Kiuyl Chung, Norm Cohen, Elizabeth Campbell Elliott, Judy Feinstein, Al Fishman, Don Gardner, Mark Harrison, Gerald Horne, Mike Keller, Jerry Kendall, Michael Klare, Barbara Kopit, Judy Lerner, Jane Milliken, Jack O'Dell, Shirley Romaine, Angela Sanbrano, Jan Sanders, Robert Schwartz, Don Shaffer, Angelia Smith, Jessie Stratton, Sue Strong, Sylvia Temmer, William Towe, and Cora Weiss. Advisory council members have included: Rev. William Sloane Coffin (President in 1993), Bishop Thomas Gumbleton, Ossie Davis, Peter Yarrow, Dr. Benjamin Spock, Toshi and Pete Seeger, Colleen Dewhurst, Harry Belafonte, Rabbi Balfour Brickner, Noam Chomsky, David Cortright, Hon. Ronald Dellums, David Kappel, Michael Klare, Hon. Hilda Howland Mason, Marcus Raskin, Marian Wright Edelman, Coretta Scott King, and David McReynolds.


39 linear ft. (39 linear feet.)

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Gift of Peace Action, 1988-1995.

Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Revision Statements

  • 2018: The file list was standardized in Summer 2017 by Min Cheng in preparation for importing into ArchivesSpace. Tessa Chambers added the notes in Fall 2017.
  • 2018: Added Series J, box 1.

Find It at the Library

Most of the materials in this catalog are not digitized and can only be accessed in person. Please see our website for more information about visiting or requesting repoductions from Swarthmore College Peace Collection Library

500 College Avenue
Swarthmore 19081-1399 USA US
610-328-8544 (Fax)